Be Better Bonbons: Eat your Herbs Fight Fatigue and Adrenal Exhaustion

Ingredients

1/2 cup astragalus powder

1/2 cup Siberian ginseng (eleuthero) powder

1/2 cup ashwagandha powder

1/2 cup hawthorn berry powder

½ cup finely chopped dried nettle leaf or nettle leaf powder

1 tablespoon licorice powder

1 tablespoon ginger powder

1 tablespoon cardamom powder

1 cup tahini (sesame butter)

1/2 cup honey

Optional

1/4  to 1/2 cup dried Acacia/Gogi/Blueberies/Elder- berries

2 tablesppons cocoa

2 Tbsp to 1/4 cup Olive Leaf Powder

Directions

Mix together the tahini and raw honey. In a separate bowl, stir together all powdered herbs. Slowly mix the powdered herbs into the honey/sesame mixture until a thick paste forms.

You can separate dough and make 2 different flavors at this point.

Roll this “dough” into balls about 1 inch in diameter, in your hands. Roll the formed balls in 1 tbsp. of extra hawthorn berry powder or cocoa, if you would prefer. Place the formed balls in an airtight container. This recipe makes about 25-30 bonbons.

Store in the refrigerator. They will firm up once they are chilled. Eat 2-3 daily.

*****

I made these power balls for my low energy.  The Nettle Leaf is the main ingredient that I am trying to increase in my daily food. You know – eating your medicine.  I have been drinking Nettle and Genmachai (roasted rice and green tea), but sometimes I crave something that is, well, not tea. So I made these. They are pretty good. I am not very good at eating my medicine if it doesn’t taste good.

I like the chocolate and elderberry.  They tasted great for the first 3-4 days, then the chocolate flavor faded.  At the same time the regular recipe bonbons aged nicely, and they became my favorite, and the favorite in taste tests.  I tried grinding gogi berries but this just made a paste – so don’t try that. Or do. What ever. If you don’t add chocolate, they are a bit strong, but not unpleasant.  The kids may or may not steal them.

The herbs are strong tonic and supportive herbs. I have long felt drawn to Ashwaganda, and Indian Herb.  I put Astragalus in my soup all winter. Hwthorne berry is good for the heart, and I think this is mostly the emotional heart for me. I did not have them on hand, for this batch.

Nettle is the best tonic herb, supportive, green. It is wonderfully full of minerals, and vitamins.  For women, drinking Nettle tea 3 x a week can reduce or eliminate menstrual cramps. I mean – entirely!  Susan Weed swears by this herb as her energy assistant.  I admit, I felt better within days of starting it. Now I hope to eat it.

I hope you enjoy these. I am!

by Tama Cathers

One thought on “Be Better Bonbons: Eat your Herbs Fight Fatigue and Adrenal Exhaustion

  1. I love blogging. Where else can I say: If your balls are dry, perhaps you need to use a little more nut butter. If they are a little sticky, why- just powder them! It will be alright.

    I remade my Be Better Bonbons, adjusting the tahini up to 1 cup and the honey down to 1/2 cup. I prefer them a little less sweet. In addition, I powdered my nettles and I like the result a lot better.

    The flavors change as time passes, so within a few days things have shifted. All I can say is eat the chocolate BBB’s first if you like them! Today I added Elderberries, Gogi berries and dried blueberries. I like them very much!

    Next week – Walking Breakfast Bars,
    and more stories.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

